Movie in the Park

A few weeks ago I went along with SWAP to the movies in the park. This is a free event during the summer in Vancouver. They show classic movies in Stanley Park on a huge inflatable screen. I never went last summer so I had to go this year and the line up is pretty decent.

movies line up

I went to see The Goonies, which I love. Although I must admit I didn’t enjoy the full outdoor movie experience. As you can see it tells you above that the movies begin at sunset. I met SWAP at around 7:30pm. For those of you who don’t know, the sun sets around 9pm here. If you want a decent viewing area, I recommend getting there early. Even at 7:30pm I was surprised to see so many people there.

bg.jpg

Image taken from freshaircinema.ca

Now the movie didn’t start until 10pm, or even later actually. Sitting on the grass isn’t so comfortable and I already had a numb bum before the film even started. You are allowed to bring chairs, which I wish I did. However I wasn’t too happy about people with chairs sitting in front of you. They should definitely have a chairs only area.

I don’t mean to complain about the whole night, it was nice to meet new swappers and chat before the film started. Victoria made me a small bag of sweet popcorn which I really appreciated after only being able to get salt popcorn here. And I did enjoy the film, I haven’t seen it in forever.

I will go back, with a chair or upgrade to the Gold Circle VIP Reserved seating area. You have to be comfortable to sit somewhere for nearly 5 hours. I brought snacks too, snacks always go down well in these situations. Also it is hosted by Evo, the car share scheme in Vancouver. If you aren’t a member already, you can sign up for free. If you are a member, you can get 15 free minutes. Win win!

IMG_4242IMG_4238IMG_4239

 

Leave a Reply

