Harrison Hot Springs

Weekends are for road trips and hire cars. James and I headed to Harrison Hot Springs resort last Tuesday. FYI Tuesday and Wednesday is my weekend. It’s about an hour and a half away from Vancouver and it’s located at the bottom of a 37 mile long lake.

After filling our tummies with a classy Denny’s breakfast and driving for 90 minutes we were finally parked up at Harrison Hot Springs. The first thing that hit me was the heat. After an hour and a half in an air conditioned car you forget how hot it is outside. Especially when you are no longer surrounded by the ocean breeze in Vancouver. Secondly the town of Harrison Hot Springs is so cute. I only saw one street of this small town but it was postcard worthy.

Next stop was to hit the waterpark. The inflatable waterpark is on Harrison Lake. It is bloody freezing. You can do a variety of water sports including jet skis. We stuck to the waterpark which cost $30 per person. You can come and go as you please, all day long. I must admit, I’m not sure it’s worth that price tag but it was an experience. We only went once as the prospect of sliding into that freezing cold water after drying out was not pleasant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s slides, trampolines and various floating obstacles. You have to wear a life jacket which is included. We also braved it without a wetsuit but there’s an option to rent. I recommend just throwing yourself down a slide to get into the lake. I thought about lowering myself in but I knew I didn’t have the balls for that. So I slid right in and it certainly took my breath away. In fact I couldn’t catch my breath. With just a short swim I was back on the float, panting like a tired dog.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

James and I may have been one of the oldest there however we enjoyed ourselves. It wasn’t probably a good idea for James with his injured shoulder. I need to remember he has a broken shoulder when I book these kind of adventures. We laid in the sun for a bit afterwards, had a drink and a prawn cocktail then drove back.

I really wanted to do a hike here but it was over 30℃ so I’ll just have to return to this adorable place. Maybe for a few days and catch some rays at the same time. Oh and as you can probably guess there’s a hot spring you can soak in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And one from Instagram…

IMG_4216

I’m heading to Calgary later today to visit the Stampede, watch this space!

 

 

Leave a Reply

