One Year On

Today marks my one year anniversary in Canada. It certainly has flown by and I feel like I’ve barely seen any of Canada. In my defence, it is a huge country. I still have one year left on my working holiday visa and I can’t wait to make it count.

This post is to my support system and how you have all contributed to my time in Canada; whether you are in Canada with me, in England or also travelling the globe. I couldn’t have done this without you.

To my new friends…

Through SWAP and my job at Spokes , I have been able to make some awesome friends. You have become one of my main reasons to stay in Canada for this long. Without a good group of friends I think this experience would have been totally different. You have also made my weekends without James worthwhile. You have made me feel loved and welcome in a city so far away from home and I hope you’ll be in my life a very long time.

To my friends back home…

You are always on my mind. I try and WhatsApp you as frequently as I can. Weeks go by and I may have not spoken to you but I know nothing has changed between us. I love catching up with you when our lives are moving at different paces. I love hearing you’re now expecting a baby or you’re about to buy your first home. I love catching up about your day at work or your latest weigh in at Slimming World. I just like to be involved, even though I’m miles away. I can’t wait to see you all when I’m home.

To James…

We have been through a lot during our first year in Canada. I’m not going lie, it was tough moving across the world with you. It was also fun and exciting. We have learnt a lot about each other and I’m unsure what our future holds. I do know that I’ll always have this experience with you and I can’t thank you enough for always being there for me.

To my family…

You are forever supporting me and my number one fan. I have missed so much since being here but I have still managed to get involved someway or somehow. This experience has definitely made me appreciate you all so much more. I’m so lucky to have an awesome family to come home to at the end of my working holiday. I’m also thankful that I could show you my new temporary home and share the experience with you. Here’s to more visitors in the next year.

To Canada…

You will always be a special place to me. You’re a beautiful country and I am forever grateful for being here. Your people are friendly and you have made me feel safe in a world full of chaos. I can’t wait to explore more of Canada in the next year. And I know for sure I’ll be back in the future.

I’ve managed to cross a few things off my list that I posted back in March. Here’s to crossing off more and sharing it with you on my blog.

  1. Hike Joffre Lakes
  2. Do the Grouse Grind
  3. Visit Seattle
  4. Visit Portland
  5. Attend the Calgary Stampede – It’s booked
  6. Visit Vancouver Island – Tofino and Victoria
  7. Go snowshoeing
  8. Go paddle boarding at Deep Cove
  9. Hike Garibaldi Lake
  10. Hike The Stawamus Chief
  11. Go wine tasting at Okanagan Valley
  12. Do white water rafting
  13. Visit Steveston
  14. See an ice hockey game
  15. Do the Whistler bungee
  16. Learn snowboarding, next winter
  17. Work in a ski resort, next winter
  18. Go to the Scandinave Spa at Whistler
  19. Visit Maligne Lake
  20. Visit Salt Spring Island
  21. Visit Bowen Island
  22. Go kayaking
  23. Ride a seaplane
  24. Visit Jasper
  25. Take advantage of the free National Parks pass
  26. Blog more frequently
  27. Take more photos

Here are some of my favourite photos during the past year. It was a tough decision, I have thousands.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

15965342_10212190907313003_2420126742976332501_n

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0193.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

15293285_1286688874738012_864292687_o

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

rafting14

Thank you to everyone who reads my blog, likes my posts and follows Brits, Bears and Beavers. I have thoroughly enjoyed writing about my life in Canada and I will continue to do so.

 

 

Leave a Reply

