Italian Day on The Drive

On the 11th June, Commercial Drive became a car free, cultural street festival. I finished work early and so James and I biked there to check it out. I had no idea what to expect from Italian Day. I was hoping for pizza, pasta and all things Italian.

I was first overwhelmed by the amount of people there. It was a huge turnout. I was however disappointed at the lack of Italian vendors. I saw Indian, Thai, Greek and Japanese food. I came across two pizza stalls and no pasta. I was starting to think it wasn’t Italian Day after all.

I did enjoy a pesto cream cheese bagel, pizza from Whistler Wood Fired Pizza Co. and a cannoli. For those of you who don’t know what a cannoli is, it looks a little something like this…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is a tube made of fried pastry dough, stuffed with a ricotta filling. It was delicious, despite it looking similar to a poo in a sick bowl (sorry).

I love exploring events like this, not just for the food. I enjoy people watching, taking in the atmosphere and dawdling in the sunshine. James and I stayed about an hour after walking the full length and back. We also entered a raffle to win a trip to Paris via Italy. I haven’t heard anything so I presume we didn’t win.

We biked back, hoping to stop for an ice cream on the way home. Unfortunately James had an accident, he fell of the bike and broke his shoulder again. James has taken it in his stride and on the road to recovery. Fingers crossed for no more accidents.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whilst we were in the area, we walked to our Airbnb which we stayed in for our first ten days in Canada. It was weird going back somewhere which once felt so alien to us. It’s nearly one year since we lived in that small bedsit. It was incredibly nostalgic to relive those first moments in Vancouver.

Watch this space for my one year “Canaversary” post.

 

 

One thought on “Italian Day on The Drive

Leave a Reply

