The Best Fish and Chips So Far

Last Tuesday my quest for the best fish and chips in Canada (so far) came to a delicious end. This hidden gem was in Steveston, about 13 miles from Downtown Vancouver. I need to thank Kate LeBlond for this recommendation as it did not disappoint.

My day started with a skytrain journey to Richmond-Brighouse, where I met Vicki and Holly (two Brits also working at Spokes). We had our bikes in tow and set off an unknown bike route to Steveston. We aimed for the West Dyke Trail which was such a pleasant find. It was bright blue skies and sunshine. It was peaceful and scenic. Most importantly it was flat and easy to ride.

P5230231.JPG

IMG_1406

IMG_1407

The West Dyke Trail according to the City of Richmond

Located adjacent to Sturgeon Banks, the West Dyke Recreational Trail offers some of the most spectacular views of the North Shore and Coastal Mountains to be found in Richmond. There are panoramic views to the west of the ocean, Gulf Islands and estuary, with views to the north of the Coastal Mountains and Vancouver International Airport.  This is the ideal place for watching a late summer sunset, or early morning sunrise while walking or cycling the trail.

Sturgeon Banks is a 21,525 acre estuary located on the banks of the Fraser River and Strait of Georgia. It is an important part of the Pacific Flyway, with 1.4 million birds migrating through the area annually and provides excellent habitat for nesting birds. The long expanse of marsh that makes up Sturgeon Banks runs from Terra Nova in the north to Garry Point Park in the south, it is adjacent to the West Dyke Trail and extends west out into the Strait of Georgia.

It must have taken us about an hour to get to Steveston village, where we locked our bikes up and walked towards the famous Pajo’s fish and chip shop. Pajo’s is well known for it’s fish and chips and I can see why. It certainly doesn’t compete with Bob Carver’s,which is Hull’s most famous fish and chip shop but it was good for Canadian standards. I must add that they do bottomless chips too, so you can eat as much as your heart desires. That is one thing I didn’t take advantage of (I know you don’t believe me).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_1410

After stuffing our faces and enjoying the well deserved rest, we took a walk around Steveston village. It is a small, quaint fishing town. It has tourist shops and a very laid-back vibe. I think most people visiting were there to eat. We sat on a bench in the sunshine whilst talking about our lives in England and how strange it must be to return home. By the way this is something I do want at the end of my visa, however the prospect scares me. Anyways I’ll save that for another post.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I need to tell you that Steveston is also home to a very expensive pizza. If you know me well, I am a big pizza lover. I read about this place in Steveston serving a pizza that costs $850. That is nearly £500 and no, that is not a typo. It is called a Seenay which includes a medley of tiger prawns, lobster ratatouille, smoked steelhead, Russian Osetra caviar, topped with Italian white truffles. See for yourself on their website.

After a short walk, we must have been delirious from the good weather and tasty fish and chips as we decided to bike to McArthurGlen Designer Outlet. It wasn’t a particularly long or hard bike ride but it did require going on some sketchy roads. One that looked very much like a highway with high speed cars. However I’m still here and lived to tell the tale.

I’ve been to the outlet a number of times, I bought some shorts for work and indulged in another churro ice cream sandwich, like the one mentioned here. I was pleased to get a skytrain home after the eventful bike ride to the designer outlet.

I don’t think I’ll find a better fish and chips here, so everyone get yourself down to Pajo’s. It will satisfy those cravings for a good British style fish and chips. Also wear sun cream on those hard to reach areas, otherwise you will end up with a red left shoulder like myself.

Come back soon for more food stories from Richmond Night Market.

Leave a Reply

