Sunday Funday – White Water Rafting

You should all go white water rafting at least once in your lifetime. I went on Sunday 7th and I want to do it again and again. If you’re in the BC area, I highly recommend Chilliwack White Water Rafting, it’s even advertised as BC’s best white water resort. It costs $119 for an afternoon of priceless adrenaline fuelled fun, this includes lunch and a snack too (give me food and I’m happy).

Our day began with a free upgrade at Enterprise. As much as I would love to own a car here, it is so easy and affordable to rent a car for those day trips I’m always lusting after. James arranged this one and actually booked it for the day before, typical James. However we were rewarded with this fancy Mercedes and I’d like to add, Enterprise have the best customer service ever.

IMG_3960.jpg

We picked up Elliot, a fellow Brit and drove to Chilliwack. It takes about an hour and a half to get there, avoiding tolls (cheapskates). When we pulled up, I was a little surprised how the resort looks. You can see a lot of wooden huts and shacks, I presume the staff live on site due to the location (in the middle of nowhere). The owners were super friendly and welcoming and made the whole day about us. Actually we were the only customers so it had to be all about us.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chilliwack River

We started with a lunch of chilli, pasta salad and bread, followed by custard creams. I thought custard creams were just a British delicacy. Shortly after filling our faces, it was time to put the dreaded damp wetsuit on. You just have to not think about who wore it last or how cold it is on your warm skin.

It was time to head upstream on the school bus to get in our raft. We shared the bus with trainee instructors, I swear they were all Australian with long hair. We went our separate ways when we arrived at the start line. We had a short safety debrief, too short in my opinion. I guess what you don’t know doesn’t hurt. I was nervous, I was petrified of falling in and felt like the information he told us wouldn’t help if I fell in. Luckily I didn’t have to worry as I stayed safely inside the raft.

Our instructor was lovely, she shouted commands and we did exactly as she said. We were only 5 people in a raft for 10-12 people so we all had to paddle. I was so achy the next day. We experienced river rapids up to class 4. This is a description of class 4: intense, powerful but predictable rapids requiring precise boat handling in turbulent water. I wouldn’t say I’m a precise boat handler but I did ok.

rafting1rafting3rafting2rafting6

rafting8

Our instructor on the far right

Along the river we got out of the raft and walked to a waterfall. This was a nice little extra however I did fall on my arse and bruised it pretty badly. I fell under the waterfall with all the water falling onto my chest, I wouldn’t advise this. The weight of the water makes it extremely difficult to get up, I survived though and lived to tell the tale.

rafting4

rafting5

The famous waterfall as mentioned above

The second part of the day was the most difficult. We had to get out of the raft and walk along the river to check it out first. We were told to imagine swimming this length of the river if we fell in. That was enough to put me off, I’ve never seen such fast flowing water over various sized rocks. That would be painful. I really didn’t want to miss out though, so with my no-regrets attitude I agreed to give it a go. I held on for dear life and listened attentively to our instructor. James fell in though, with his GoPro attached. I just watched in shock as he fell overboard and had to be pulled back on by a fellow paddler.

rafting11

Going…

rafting12

Gone…

raftin13

Survived!

FYI – James was ok, he did kick a rock with his foot but was pulled out very quickly.

rafting16rafting10rafting9rafting14

rafting15

Teamwork

Chilliwack River Rafting also have a photographer in a kayak taking pictures for you. So if you don’t have a GoPro, you’ll still get some great action photos.

This was definitely one of the best days I’ve had in Canada so far. I’m ready to do it again, any takers?

Last but not least, thanks to James for driving and his GoPro footage.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

