Abbotsford Bloom Tulip Festival

I first heard about this tulip festival through a sponsored ad on Facebook. They aren’t so annoying after all. It opened on 10th April and from what I hear it was just a green field for a while. If you read my blog regularly, you will have noticed I complain about the rain a lot. This was delaying the tulips from blooming. They have extended their closing date to May 14th due to the late start. You have 5 days to visit.

After my fellow Spokes friends had been and told me about how colourful the field was looking, I was ready to venture an hour out of Vancouver to visit these tulips. I went on Tuesday 2nd May with Vicki, Daisy and Ray from work. I hired a car from Budget in Vancouver and our journey began. I forgot to take a picture of the car, so here is one I found online. It reminded me so much of my Cheryl the Citroen who is no longer with me.

chevrolet-sonic-rs-4_600x0w

Chevrolet Sonic Turbo

It seemed to take forever to get to Abbotsford, I was avoiding the toll bridge but we finally made it and I was surprised to see how busy it was. The website does advise you to buy tickets online beforehand but we were living life on the edge. It costs $8 to get in (during the week anyways), affordable and worth it. FYI you can pay on card.

I have never seen so many tulips in my life. I will add now that tulips aren’t my favourite flower. In fact I don’t have a favourite. I love flowers, buy me a bouquet any day of the week but I’m not clued up on the varieties. I enjoyed the colours and how awesome they look in their uniform rows.

After an hour or so, I had seen enough and had plenty of photo opportunities. At this point, I was enjoying the other visitors attempts at selfies and group photos. They are plenty of signs telling you not to walk in between the tulips. You still saw many people wading into the waist deep tulips to get the perfect photo.

P5020170.JPG

P5020174.JPG

You could pick your own tulips in a designated area, you could eat burgers, crepes and snacks from a number of food trucks and the younger clientele had a playing area. It is a lovely day out in the sunshine and I always love escaping Vancouver, even if it is for the day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ray, Vicki and Daisy loving the Tulip Festival

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vicki looking all majestic

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just me, myself and I with a few tulips and a stranger

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pick your own tulips – $1 per stem

After the tulip festival we ate at Presto BBQ in Abbotsford, Ray and I thought it was a bbq store, not a restaurant. We also had troubles locking the boot of the car. Thankfully Ray suggested it was one of those keys where it locks when you walk away. I wasn’t used to that kind of technology with my Citroen C1 in the UK. I ordered a chicken skewer with yam fries and corn. I always regret ordering corn when it gets stuck in your teeth for the rest of the day. Yam fries are sweet potato chips for you English folks.

We finished our day trip with Lucky Doughnuts at 49th Parallel cafe on Main Street. They are the best donuts ever and probably the most expensive, however they are totally worth it.

lemon-raspberry-300x200.jpg

Photo taken from Lucky Doughnuts website. I promise it was tastier than it looks.

Come back soon to read all about my white water rafting experience, I’m ticking stuff off my list.

3 thoughts on “Abbotsford Bloom Tulip Festival

Leave a Reply

