Bye Vancouver, Hello Bowen Island

James and I had a day off together last Saturday and we decided to escape the Vancouver hustle and bustle and head to Bowen Island. This peaceful island is so close to Vancouver and easily accessible by public transport. It is just a short ferry from Horseshoe Bay and costs about $13. Perfect for a day trip.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leaving Horseshoe Bay

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Views from the Top Deck (and lens glare)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can the views get any better?

The ferry was like a glorified waiting room with amazing views. It was enjoyable, in fact I would go as far to say it was the highlight of my trip. I loved admiring the views and you can even head on to the top deck to take in the fresh sea air. It was such a small ferry terminal on Bowen Island that you walk off where the cars board. That’s something I’ve only ever seen on movies, it’s true. In fact the whole place was very movie like. Just imagine a love story of two high school sweethearts, rekindling their love in a small seaside town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I see you Bowen Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crippen Park, Bowen Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Such a rustic, charming place

First stop was food, obviously. We walked up the main street from the ferry terminal and stumbled upon Doc Morgan’s Pub and Restaurant. I was immediately drawn to the fish and chips. I know they won’t come close to Bob Carver’s fish and chips (the people of Hull will know) but I had to take a chance. They were good but just nothing like back home. The quest for good fish and chips continues. Nonetheless the pub was pleasant and was even showing a Hull City match on the TV, not that I’m a Hull City follower.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good food here! 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It tasted better than it looked, I promise

After stuffing our faces we thought it would be a great idea to walk the Dorman Point trail. On a full stomach we walked up this path to a viewpoint. Steep was an understatement. Ok, so I maybe exaggerating but it wasn’t fun after consuming a big meal and a beer. We were rewarded with gorgeous views at the top though. The views never fail to amaze me in Canada. Everyday I’m taken aback at something I see, even if I have seen it a hundred times.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walk past this sign and you’ll see the anticipated views

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Views for miles

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

James did this, others had done too. J 4 J 

We were going to walk to Killarney Lake, another walking trail you can do. However after much deliberation we decided to head back to the city and save the walk for another day. I was later informed by Daisy that we didn’t miss much.

I loved the vibe on Bowen Island, it was very laid-back and quaint. I was surprised how many car passengers were onboard on the ferry though. Where were they going? I can imagine this place being popular with tourists in the summer months so I was pleased to see it during a quieter period. This really is a great location for a few hours away from the city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favourite photo from the trip

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Waiting for the ferry to disembark 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can you spot the starfish?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I loved this little waiting area for the ferry on Bowen Island

 

Leave a Reply

