Cypress Mountain

14 days since my last post, my bad! Time is flying by right now and not much has happened since then. I did go skiing last week though, to Cypress Mountain.

I’ve been wanting to go skiing for a while now, since my Dad left in January. Lack of money was my first excuse and then I couldn’t find anyone to go with. I have a few skiing friends but I know everyone is super busy and/or poor. James is still injured and I don’t want to rush him back onto the slopes. So last week enough was enough and I decided to go solo.

My biggest worry was falling over and not having anyone with me to help me in an emergency however I was too eager to get back on my skis. I bought a day pass online for $58 and headed to Cypress Mountain on the shuttle bus from Lonsdale Quay. The bus cost $20 return and takes about half an hour. I got to the base at about 9:30am and left at 7:30pm. It was a long day but a lot of fun.

I enjoyed going at my own speed, stopping when I wanted, taking a long lunch and skiing my favourite run over and over again. It was bigger than I thought and really, really quiet. It was a perfect day and I even caught the sunset. If you follow my Instagram, I post a lot of sunsets.

As you can see from the map above the mountain has a variety of trails, all different levels. It is made up of two mountains with the base in the middle. It’s enough skiing for one day or just an afternoon. The conditions were perfect and it has amazing views of Vancouver. The pictures don’t do it justice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The day started so gloomy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then the sun came

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What a view

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunset above the clouds

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Night skiing

I just need to try Grouse Mountain now and I’ll have skied the three closest resorts to Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

