Post Christmas

The days between Christmas and New Year are a blur. I have no idea what day or date it is, however I do know I’m going on my winter RV trip tomorrow with my Dad and James. We pick the RV up tomorrow from Canadream (in Delta) and we’ll be heading East. I cannot wait!

The last few days have flown by and we have not done a great deal. No one tells you hard it is to play the tour guide. It doesn’t help that it has rained pretty much everyday so it makes it difficult planning things to do.

I worked the morning of Boxing day (it was snowing) and met my Dad for a coffee and a scone afterwards. Scones are surprisingly nice here. We planned to go skiing in the afternoon but it was snowing/raining so we knew the conditions wouldn’t be great. James had bought a tv in the sales so we headed back for an afternoon of movies and pizza. I’m surprised I could manage more food after the Christmas day gains.

Yesterday we walked around Queen Elizabeth park. I have seen many photos of the view from there so I was eager to visit with my camera. It is about ten minutes away from my flat via the Skytrain. It was hard to believe we were so close to home with the amount of snow there. So we shuffled, slipped and skidded to the top and took in the views. We stumbled upon Seasons in the Park, a restaurant overlooking the views of Vancouver. We sat next to a fire on the outdoor terrace and enjoyed a bite to eat. This is what it must feel like to be a lady who lunches.

15697951_10212049543779003_2359361025114103187_n

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Seasons in the Park Restaurant

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Downtown Vancouver views

The Comedy Mix was on the agenda for the evening. I’ve mentioned this place before and I had to take Dad there whilst he’s in town. It was just as good as the previous times I’ve been. You won’t get a better night for just $8 (that doesn’t include beers, obviously). Our night ended at about 2am after a few pitchers of beers, Jägerbombs, Agwa bombs and vodka. It was a fun night and I completely forgot I took these pictures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Christmas lights opposite the Comedy Mix

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lights of Hope at the hospital

I had planned a day of biking and skiing today but the weather let us down once again. We decided on cinema, food and the Flyover Canada experience. We saw Collateral Beauty at the cinema, I may have shed a tear or two. It was a good but sad film. The Flyover Canada is a simulation ride of, you got it, flying over Canada. You are suspended in the air with wind, mist and scents. It’s indoors obviously so it was busier than expected. I guess everyone had the same idea with it raining. It was fun to do but I don’t think it’s worth the money. It doesn’t last very long and it makes you feel a little sicky. On a more positive note it was very festive and nice to say I’ve done it.

Watch this space over the next two weeks as I’ll be sharing our RV trip around Banff, Lake Louise, Jasper and anywhere in between. All we have booked is the RV so who knows where I’ll be tomorrow evening.

Leave a Reply

