Canyon Lights

It is starting to feel very festive in Vancouver and I love it. I love the build up to Christmas, it’s probably better than Christmas Day itself. I love the lights, the food and wrapping up when it is cold outside. With Halloween well and truly behind us many places have swapped the pumpkins for christmas trees and cobwebs for twinkly lights.

My first festive night was the Canyon Lights at the Capilano Suspension Bridge. I managed to get free entry to their opening night which included free Bailey’s hot chocolate and sweet treats, win win! I’ve never been before so thought this was a perfect time to go and experience it.

There is a free shuttle bus to the Capilano Suspension Bridge as it is located in North Vancouver, however we did just catch a normal bus there (just for convenience) and took advantage of the free shuttle back. Vanessa and I were greeted with a car park and entrance filled with lit trees. Upon entry we were given a free light up necklace, I presume so you can see people walking around as it was very dark.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a good job none of us had epilepsy as it did have a strobe setting

You walk round various paths and trails which showcase millions of lights, all over the trees and free standing ones. There was a band singing christmas tunes and a stall handing out free Bailey’s and non alcoholic hot chocolates with a plate of shortbread, gingerbread, cookies and cake. The gift shop was packed with branded merchandise and a sweet corner. This is where I tasted the best salted caramel toasted marshmallow I have ever eaten. Well I have only ever tasted that one but it was pretty damn tasty. Just look at it…

PB230267 (2).jpg

This photo doesn’t even do it any justice, I promise it was the best of the best!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Macaroon heaven

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I feel like I let the marshmallow man down, he moved the stand so I could get a better picture, I’ll have to go back to re take… and have another marshmallow!

We finally met Daisy and headed towards the suspension bridge, again covered in a lot of lights. You couldn’t see much below because it was dark, so if you do have a fear of heights it is the best time to go. The bridge itself is 460ft long and super wobbly, I was having visions of myself flying over into the river (230ft below). It was crowded on the bridge which was a shame as I would have liked to get some more/better pictures. A lot of people trying to get selfies in the dark, silly tourists!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After you have crossed the bridge you come across more lights, surprise surprise. This time suspended above a small lake/pond. It was very pretty with the reflections. Then you can walk along the tree top walkway which are also entwined with more fairy lights.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a little shaky but stills looks pretty magical

Back across on the entrance side of the park you can walk the ‘cliff walk’, it is a suspended walkway along the cliff. It wasn’t too impressive in the dark as you can’t see anything below, nonetheless it was very festive.

Ok so you probably get the gist of how many lights there was, however I would definitely recommend a visit. It is $39.95 (per adult) which is a little steep for my budget but pop to Spokes and we can give you a coupon to save some dollars. Or you probably don’t have to go after reading this and seeing the pictures, although I would go back solely for another marshmallow.

PB230290 (2).jpg

The Trading Post aka gift shop

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It feels like Christmas and it isn’t even December yet.

Leave a Reply

