Sea to Sky Highway – Day 2

Our second and final day was Sunday and Whistler was on the agenda. Now this is a dream come true for me. As an avid skier I’ve only ever dreamed of visiting Whistler. I couldn’t actually believe I was there. It may sound silly but Whistler is up there as one of the best ski resorts in the world. Ok so obviously there was no snow when we went however that didn’t ruin my expectations.

The drive into the village reminded me of driving into Disney, lots of signs and a magical feel. We parked up and had a walk around. The village is split into three areas; Upper Village, Village Centre and Village North. The Village Centre is home to the ski lifts to Whistler Mountain and Blackcomb Mountain. I could totally picture it covered in snow. Instead it was brown and green, full of mountain bikers waiting for the lift up. Hats off to them, it looked hard work. All the buildings were cute, I must have used the word cute several times. In fact the whole place was just picturesque, like a postcard.

We walked around all three parts of the village and stopped for lunch in the Village Centre overlooking the ski lift area. The food was top notch and I was so envious of the servers who obviously live and work in Whistler. I’ve heard how difficult it is to find work and even harder to find somewhere to live but people obviously make it happen. The server said you just have to be on the ball 24/7, following every lead. I was quite happy not doing a ski season up until now but I could totally live in Whistler all year round, maybe next year.

After lunch we just sauntered through the village, looking in shops. I don’t know about you but I love looking in gifts shops, even if they are filled with crap you won’t ever need. Even The Body Shop and Pandora have branches in Whistler.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cute Shops

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Starbucks are everywhere!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mountain Bikers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Village Centre

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Blackcomb

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The clouds followed us all weekend

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One day maybe

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Farmers Market (if I remember rightly)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Olympic Plaza

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More cute buildings

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bleu bacon burger @ Longhorn Saloon & Grill

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Village Park East

I really didn’t want to leave, James and I fell in love with Whistler and cannot wait to return. In fact within a few hours of returning to Vancouver I already reserved a room for the official opening of the ski season (November 24th).

One of the way back to Vancouver we stopped to do the Train Wreck trail. It is not far from Whistler and only a 2km round trip. You also cross a new looking suspension bridge over Cheakamus River. You then see several train carts scattered through the woodlands covered in graffiti. It is slightly eerie and I was fascinated with how they got there, especially as they were pretty beaten up. However I later read that they were placed there, not sure if it is true or not but it slightly ruins it for me. On the hand they are great for taking pictures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“… passing the skis on the tree”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cheakamus River

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whistler Train Wreck

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whistler Train Wreck

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whistler Train Wreck

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whistler Train Wreck

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whistler Train Wreck

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m still on the hunt for a bear sighting

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Suspension Bridge

 

I forgot all about the beauty of Highway 99 on the way back, it made the trip home more enjoyable. We dropped the hire car off and headed back to our flat feeling slightly deflated and tired. We finished the weekend off with pizza and already counting down the days until our next adventure. Vegas in October, skiing in November and hopefully a few day trips in between.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Stawamus Chief from the highway

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

