Cabin Fever

I take back everything I said about the weather in my last post. I clearly spoke too soon as the sunshine has come back into my glorious Vancouver life. Today I wore shorts for the first time in what seems like forever, probably only a week or so but it felt good (especially with freshly shaven legs, sorry too much info).

I haven’t done anything exciting with my last few days off, in fact I find it hard to be up and showered before midday. On the other hand you need days to yourself to illegally stream Keeping Up with The Kardashians (guilty) and The Great British Bake Off.

The last few weeks I have been toying with hiking the “Grouse Grind”. It is a trail up Grouse Mountain which involves 2830 steps  and takes about 1.5 hours. I can see why it is referred to as “Mother Nature’s Stairmaster”. I have read that if you are asking yourself if you’re ready to complete the Grouse Grind then you really shouldn’t do it. Back home I was a regular gym goer, since I’ve been here I’ve done one HIIT session from The Body Coach and eaten double, possibly triple the calories than I need. However having no car means I am moving more and walking around so thankfully I’m not the size of a whale just yet. So physically I’m not ready and I was born with a club foot so that is also a great excuse to use to talk myself out it. Well that’s not an excuse at all, it doesn’t stop me and I’ve walked longer than the length of this trail. It is the steps that are giving me nightmares. One of my gym workouts back home involved the stair machine and I hated it, I would often swap it for something much easier. I have read it is hard to breathe as you get higher and stopping is probably the worse thing to do. I need to stop reading shit on Google and just do it. It’s like when you google symptoms and diagnose yourself with a life threatening illness. I’m being way over dramatic. The record holder did this 1.8 mile hike in 23 minutes and 48 seconds. In no way, shape or form am I trying to beat that. I would be happy to do it in under 2 hours. I’ve also heard the views of Vancouver from the top make it all worthwhile. I feel like I’m ready to conquer this tomorrow. Watch this space.

I’ve also been planning our weekend away (mentioned in this post). I have booked a hotel for one night in Squamish. It isn’t far but it is close to Whistler and closer to Joffre Lakes. We’ll be hiring a car and having a mini break away from Vancouver. I also really want to take advantage of the hikes here in BC and have been searching for appropriate walking/hiking boots under $100 preferably. I’ve been unlucky so far but I haven’t explored all avenues yet. Plenty of hikes to be done in the Squamish and Whistler area and hopefully some good photo opportunities too.

In other news James and I are off to Las Vegas in October. This will be the third time I’ve been and hopefully my first visit to the Grand Canyon. James’ parents will be there at the same time so it’ll be nice to see some familiar faces. I love this place, I don’t even know why. It’s just Vegas and it’s awesome. James has never been so I’m excited to see what he thinks. He’s either going to love it or absolutely hate it. Fingers crossed!

 

Leave a Reply

