Lynn Canyon Park

The weather has dramatically turned around in the past week. That is one thing the British love talking about, the weather. Summer came to a quick bitter end in Vancouver, no more hot sunny days and late evenings. It gets dark at 8pm (ok, still quite late) and rain makes an appearance at least once a day, well not so much over the long weekend. So I thought writing about my day to Lynn Canyon in the sunshine the other week might help me drag summer out a little longer. I nearly didn’t make it as James and I had one too many beers at the Whitecaps game the night before. Swimming in glacier water really cures a hangover.

IMG_2594.JPG

SWAP crew watching the Whitecaps

Lynn Canyon is a free, tourist filled park with a suspension bridge. Apparently Lynn Canyon’s suspension bridge is better than Capilano Suspension Bridge but I wouldn’t know yet as I haven’t seen it. Lynn Canyon is a perfect short trip from Downtown Vancouver, about an hour on a bus. It is also one of BC’s best “swimming holes” with many spots to swim and jump into Lynn Creek which runs through the park. Cliff jumping is popular here but also very frowned upon with warnings and death stats all over the place. One of the signs say “That was worth the spinal damage. Said no one ever”. Safe to say that put me off enough, didn’t faze James though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lynn Canyon Suspension Bridge

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A natural water slide amongst the rocks

I was surprised how busy it was for a Wednesday but I’m also still getting used to living in one of the best cities in the world which  is bound to be busy everyday. Surprisingly I’m not used to tourists in Hull. The 30 foot swimming pool was crazy busy but still managed to enjoy the freezing cold waters amongst the crowds. Perfect place for people watching too, favourite pastime of mine.

P8240102 (2).jpg

Imagine how peaceful it would be without annoying families and kids

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0193.

Coldest water ever, best to just jump in

To the right of these photos were big rocks filled with crazy cliff jumpers including James. It was such a narrow space with people jumping off each side. I was happy to sit back and watch, flinching every time someone jumped. We spent the rest of the afternoon following the main trail through the park.

pic2

pic

This was my attempt at “cliff jumping” off the tiny rock in the background

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big rock, little girl

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The kid on the rock makes this picture

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

James enjoyed it too, I promise

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Twin Falls from above

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So many places like this in and around Vancouver, I feel spoilt for choice. I have a weekend off in September so James and I can spend more than a day together and see somewhere other than Downtown Vancouver. Choosing somewhere is proving rather difficult though, I wish I had a bottomless pit of money. On the other hand BC is full of free places to see, visit and explore. I can’t decide between Salt Spring Island, Whistler/Squamish and Joffre Lakes. It is such a first world problem and I hope it doesn’t piss it down all weekend too.

One thought on “Lynn Canyon Park

Leave a Reply

