25 Years Young

First of all let me apologise for not posting in a long time. I hope you have missed me. I’ve been busy working 5 days a week and moving into our flat, which had no furniture or wifi for a while. A lot has happened really since I last posted, I turned 25 and became an adult. I have a flat with rent, bills and furniture. It is a little daunting but exciting.

It was my birthday on the 30th July. I am officially a quarter of century old. It was also James’ birthday on 29th July. We practically share a birthday but I wouldn’t have it any other way, it means double the food, cake and alcohol.

For James’ birthday I bought him tickets to see Whitecaps FC vs Crystal Palace. We went on the 19th July and it was fun. I’ve never been a fan of football and James has tried his hardest to get me to a Manchester United game in the UK. So when he saw an English team were playing in Vancouver he wanted tickets. BC Place is where the match took place; it is an impressive stadium holding 54,500 people.

IMG_2429

BC Place

IMG_2428

BC Place

James had one too many beers in Jimmy’s before the match with some locals whilst I finished up at work. Jimmy’s is a bar James has fallen in love with, to be honest it does have a decent happy hour(s) and a nice outdoor patio. A lot of people in the blue Whitecaps FC shirt drinking beer and the stadium is just round the corner so the streets were filled with crowds making their way to BC Place. We headed to the stadium, ordered a hot dog and two beers and found our seats. We were very close to the pitch, James was happy. Even though half the stadium was cornered off and a lot of empty seats the atmosphere was great. I really enjoyed it considering I’m not the biggest fan.

My birthday fell on one of the nights for Celebration of Light. It is three nights of fireworks hosted by three different countries; Netherlands, Australia and USA. They battle it out with amazing fireworks teamed with music then one country wins. We missed the Netherland’s one, Australia was on Wednesday 27th July and USA on my birthday, 30th July. James and I had a day off together on the Wednesday and the sun was shining so we had a beach day at English Bay. The fireworks are lit from a barge on English Bay so we knew if we got there early we would have a good view. Slowly but surely the beach was getting more busy. We both had no idea what to expect so we just stayed in our spot and waited patiently. It was definitely worth the wait, I have never seen fireworks like it. They lasted about 20 minutes and you could faintly hear the music in the background. Now we know you can listen to the music on a local radio station if you aren’t near the speakers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

English Bay Beach

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

English Bay

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was my best attempt of the sunset reflection, Hey James!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

English Bay Beach

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pre Fireworks

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honda Celebration of Light

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honda Celebration of Light

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honda Celebration of Light

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honda Celebration of Light

There was no way I was missing the USA one on MY birthday after seeing how good the Australia night was. I was at work during the day so I instructed James to get there mid afternoon to find a decent spot, he was happy to. I knew it was going to be busy for a number of reasons:

  • Disney Theme, who doesn’t love Disney?!
  • Saturday night (no work for most people)
  • Long weekend, BC Day on Monday so no work (for most people)
  • Pride weekend

Safe to say it was heaving, in fact the police had to restrict access to the beach due the amount of people there. Yet again the fireworks did not disappoint. I got goose bumps watching them and just looking around you seeing everyone else enjoying them too, it was a really good atmosphere. Click here to watch a video of the full set.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

English Bay Sunset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Getting comfy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The crowds at English Bay

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honda Celebration of Light

However as soon as the fireworks stop, the crowds stand up and make their way home. We nearly got trampled on but we made it back safe and sound eventually. The crowds did ruin it slightly but what do you expect for a free event in a major city.

It was my first birthday away from friends and family and I do love a good party like all of us Baillie’s so it was strange not celebrating in that way. I also spent my day at work but everyone made an effort to wish me happy birthday, we even had carrot and chocolate cake. A surprise delivery of flowers turned up from my Mum and Dan, which was a lovely touch. When I left the UK I was given a handful of cards from my nearest and dearest with a strict message written on them, “Do not open till 30th July”. It was really nice waking up on my birthday and having cards from home to open with lovely messages written back in June, most of them saying how proud they are of me. A letter from my Dad and sister had me in tears, happy tears. It certainly is the little things in the life that put a smile on your face. So it may not have been a birthday I’ve been used to but what better way to celebrate than watching Disney fireworks with your boyfriend in Vancouver. I cannot wait to see what 25 year old me gets up to in the next year.

Leave a Reply

