Tour De Seawall

Working weekends suck but also have some advantages. My days off are week days which means many places tend to be less busy, well as less busy as Vancouver can be. So on friday last week I took advantage of a free bike rental and explored the seawall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Canada Place and Downtown Vancouver

I work at Spokes Bicycle Rental and sell bike rentals to tourists, cabin crew, locals and children. One of the most famous bike routes in Vancouver is the seawall around Stanley Park. The shop is conveniently placed near the beginning of the seawall and it is the number one bike rental shop in Vancouver with over 1000 bikes. It is safe to say some days are pretty hectic. I maybe biased but it also has a great team of staff. The whole rental process runs smoothly, even when I found out it was all based on paper forms and no computers. You should definitely come to Spokes for a bike to explore the city and its surroundings.

I have never actually walked or biked around the seawall so I thought it was about time to hop on a bike and crack on. My trusty companion was a ladies seven speed cruiser named Selma, she was metallic purple and had a basket. The bike path runs between Stanley Park and the waters of Vancouver Harbour and English Bay. It is about 10km all the way round and it is one way for cyclists. This is definitely a good thing as the path can be narrow with sharp corners.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Selma the Seven Speed Cruiser (that is not the Humber Bridge)

It is seriously something else, it doesn’t feel real when cycling round. The views are extraordinary and everyone around you seems to be enjoying themselves. I was alone which made the whole experience relaxing and peaceful. It was enjoyable biking at my own pace and stopping to take pictures as often as I like. I was quite lucky that it wasn’t very busy when I visited but I can imagine it being crazy with millions of tourists hanging around on a sunny sunday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lions Gate Bridge

I came across Lions Gate Bridge (very similar to the Humber Bridge), two beaches and one swimming pool with slides, probably a kids pool but it looked appealing. Lots of fellow cyclists, walkers, rollerbladers and runners also enjoying the seawall. The end came too quickly and I wasn’t ready to hand in Selma just yet so I kept going. The path continues past English Bay and Sunset Beach and onto False Creek. I have mentioned False Creek previously however it was totally different experiencing it on a bike. The designated bike path, away from  cars and pedestrians makes the route super easy for all abilities. It was about 15 miles in total, see the route I took below.

Untitled1

I was gone for 3-4 hours and soon realised James was waiting for me in Downtown Vancouver so I thought I best head back. My parents will tell you I’ve never really enjoyed cycling but this has definitely changed my mind and I’m even thinking of buying a bike, just a cheap one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lions Gate Bridge with North Vancouver

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Siwash Rock

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stanley Park Seawall

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

West Vancouver

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Third Beach

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

False Creek | Science World

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Science World

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

False Creek

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

False Creek

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

False Creek

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

False Creek

Leave a Reply

